Why is princess leia a princess?

Leia was adopted as a baby by Senator Organa and his wife Queen Breha Organa, thus making her a princess. Technically, she could not be considered a princess by birth, since her mother Padmé Amidala was no longer Queen of Naboo at the time of her birth, having taken the position of Senator of Naboo