Do beta fish see in the dark?

They have monocular vision - ability to see in two directions at the same time. This skill makes it hard for them to adapt to darkness or to brightness. They see best in low light mimicking their native murky waters. Overly bright light hurts their eyes, too little light causes body colors to dim.