What is sulfate free?

Sulfates are chemicals used as cleansing agents. The purpose of these sulfates is to create a lathering effect to remove oil and dirt from your hair. If your shampoo easily makes a lather in the shower, there's a good chance it contains sulfates. Sulfate-free shampoos make little to no lather.