Why did hawaii five o. go off the air?

According to Deadline, both Alex O'Loughlin's (Lieutenant Commander Steve McGarrett) and Scott Caan's (Detective Sergeant Danno Williams) contracts expire at the end of season ten, which leaves both actors free to move onto other pastures.