What is the difference between irish soda bread and scone?

Irish Soda Bread and scone recipes are identical. Both are lightly sweetened, include butter cut into the flour, leavened with baking powder or soda, & contain buttermilk or soured milk. The main difference is the shape. Irish Soda Bread is formed into a loaf while scones are formed into wedges.