Where does the phrase how do you like them apples come from?

“How do you like them apples” is an expression that supposedly originated during the first World War, when the Allies' anti-tank grenade was colloquially called a “toffee apple” because of its bulb-like appearance on a stick. The phrase was a taunt against the enemy.