Is there a difference between a dry cup and a wet cup?

While liquid and dry measuring cups do hold the same volume, the difference is that each is specially designed to do a better job of measuring its respective ingredients. Liquid cups are measured by pouring to the line while dry cups are leveled off at the top with a spatula or knife.