How many gallons of water does it take to make a hamburger?

It takes about 660 gallons to make one 1/3 pound burger--most of which is used for raising beef cattle.

---

According to figures compiled by the University of Nebraska, Lincoln, it takes 462.5 gallons (1750.8 liters) to make a quarter-pounder. Water is required for raising the cow, growing crops to feed the cow, and processing the meat.