What does a u. v. index of seven mean?

A UV index reading of 6 to 7 means high risk of harm from unprotected Sun exposure. Protection against skin and eye damage is needed. Reduce time in the Sun between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. If outdoors, seek shade and wear Sun protective clothing, a wide-brimmed hat, and UV-blocking sunglasses.