What kind of bread is used in a monte cristo sandwich?

Any type of sweet dense white bread like brioche or challah will work for a monte cristo. The bread should be dense enough to endure being battered and fried and sweet enough to pair well with the cheese, ham, and sugar used to make the sandwich.