What's the chemical in turkey that makes people tired?

Turkey allegedly causes drowsiness because it is packed with a nutrient called tryptophan. Tryptophan is one of 20 naturally occurring amino acids, the building blocks of proteins. Because the body is unable to manufacture tryptophan on its own, it must be obtained from food protein.