What's the difference between cognac and brandy?

The first and the most prominent difference between brandy and cognac is that brandy is an alcoholic beverage distilled from wine or fermented fruit juice. Cognac is a higher quality French brandy which is made from special grapes which are grown in Cognac, a French town.