What is purple passion asparagus?

'Purple Passion' is considered a connoisseur's selection of asparagus with a refined sweet flavor which becomes mildly nutty when cooked. In April and May, a heavy yield of attractive smoky purple spears is produced. They can be harvested for about eight weeks before the plants go to seed.