Does garlic ever go bad?

If you keep a whole head of garlic unpeeled, it will last close to six months. Individual peeled cloves will last up to a week in the fridge, and chopped garlic will last no more than a day unless stored covered in olive oil, in which case it will last two, maybe three days.