Where did the term goosebumps originate?

"goose bumps" phrase is associated with goose skin. Goose feathers grow from spores in the epidermis which resemble human hair follicles. When a goose's feathers are plucked, its skin has protrusions where the feathers were, and these bumps are what the human phenomenon resembles.