What do artichokes grow on?

A mature artichoke plant is truly a thing of beauty. Reaching up to 5 feet tall and equally as wide, this stunning, half-hardy perennial vegetable produces masses of 3-foot-long, silvery, deeply serrated leaves and towering flower stalks topped with the edible flower buds we call artichokes.