How long does it take for a hen to go broody?

Not an exact science to make a hen go broody–it’s a combination of hormones, instinct, and maturity. You can't predict it and can’t make a hen go broody. Certain breeds are more likely to turn broody than others and hybrid hens seldom turn broody because they have had this instinct bred out of them