What's the difference between gin rummy and rummy?

The main difference between gin rummy and rummy is when you are allowed to lay down cards. In gin rummy, you have to be able to lay down all your cards at the same time, whereas in rummy once you have a set or run of 3 you may lay them down by themselves.