When was the start of world war one?

World War 1, also known as the First World War or the Great War, was a global war originating in Europe that lasted from 28 July 1914 to 11 November 1918.

---

World War I began in 1914 after the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand and lasted until 1918. Germany, Austria-Hungary, Bulgaria and the Ottoman Empire; the Central Powers fought against Great Britain, France, Russia, Italy, Romania, Japan and the United States the Allied Powers.