What are green beans?

There are varieties of green beans, but all fall into two categories: bush or pole. These two categories refer to the way in which the beans were grown. Bush beans grow on a short, bushy plant, while pole beans (also known as runner beans) grow as climbing vines that require a trellis or staking.