Why do bulls have nose rings?

Bulls have no concern for fences, they'll just walk through them in most cases. And chains are hard to attach. But a nose ring pulls on a sensitive part of the nose, so it doesn't take much to tie them up using the ring, cause they don't want the pain involved.