Who was the attorney general under george w. bush?

Three persons served as Attorney General under George W. Bush: John Ashcroft (from 2001 to 2005), Alberto Gonzales (from 2005 to 2007), and Michael Mukasey (from 2007 to January 2009).

---

Three men served as Attorney General while George W. Bush was President. John Ashcroft served from 2001 to 2005. Alberto Gonzales replaced Ashcroft and was in the role until 2007. Michael Mukasey succeeded Gonzales and served until the end of Bush's second term on January 20, 2009.