What's the story behind the song american pie?

It is the story of the end of the 1950s music and the advent of rock and roll that was darker and more societally "relevant". There is a a lot of symbolism in the song--and it's far too long to explain here.

---

The song American Pie references the 50s innocence, the turbulent 60s, and 70s disillusion and of course the death of Buddy Holly, the day the music died.