What is a north american massasauga?

massasauga (Sistrurus catenatus): a small North American rattlesnake of the family Viperidae, found in prairies, swamps, and woodlands from the Great Lakes to Arizona. It is typically 18 to 30 inches (45 to 75 cm) long.

---

The massasauga (Sistrurus catenatus) is a rattlesnake species found in midwestern North America from southern Ontario to northern Mexico and parts of the United States in between. Like all rattlesnakes, it is a pit viper, and like all pit vipers, it is venomous.