What countries make up the netherlands?

There are 12 modern provinces in the country of the Netherlands. The provinces are Groningen, Friesland, Drenthe, Overijssel, Flevoland, Gelderland, Utrecht, North-Holland, South-Holland, Zealand, North Brabant and Limburg.