How long does it take for bamboo to grow in minecraft?

At default random tick speed (3), each plant grows approximately every 4,096 game ticks (about 3 minutes). When bone meal is used on it, it grows by 1–2 blocks. Bamboo can grow up to 12–16 blocks tall. The top of a bamboo plant requires a light level of 9 or above to grow.