What makes a clock tick?

The 'tick' sound is when the pendulum swings one way and the 'tock' is when it swings back. Modern electric clocks use small motors to advance the hands each second. When the motor moves the hand, you hear the gears moving against each other, then a fainter sound as they relax into place.