What's the difference between dog food and cat food?

Cat food has a much higher protein content, and too much protein is not healthy for dogs. Cat food has the correct nutritional content for cats and dog food has correct nutritional content in order to meet dogs needs. Consult your Veterinarian as to the best food to feed your pet.