What is the rate of a falling object?

Near the surface of the Earth, an object in free fall will accelerate at approximately 9.8 meters per second squared. With air resistance acting on an object that has been dropped, the object will eventually reach a terminal velocity, which is around 195 km per hour 122 mph for a human skydiver.