Is there such thing as the dark web?

The dark web is a part of the internet that isn't indexed by search engines. Accessing the dark web requires the use of an anonymizing browser called Tor. The Tor browser routes your web page requests through a series of proxy servers and renders your IP address unidentifiable and untraceable.