How is rock candy made?

A supersaturated solution contains more solute (in this case, sugar) than can stay in the solution—so as the temperature decreases, the sugar comes out of the solution, forming crystals. The lower the temperature, the more molecules join the sugar crystals, and that is how rock candy is created.