What is the four seven eight breathing method?

It's a method used to reduce stress and anxiety, and also to promote sleep. Exhale, then: Breathe in quietly through the nose for 4 seconds, hold the breath for 7 seconds, then exhale forcefully through pursed lips for 8 seconds. Repeat up to 4 times.