What percentage of the united states population is over the age of sixty five?

According to Statistica.com, in 2019, about 16.5 percent of the American population was 65 years old or over; a figure which is expected to reach 22 percent by 2050. This is a significant increase from 1950, when only eight percent of the population was 65 or over.