How does the n. b. a. play in tournament work?

The play-in tournament will be held after conclusion of the 2020-21 regular season & before the start of the first round of the 2021 NBA playoffs. The teams that finish Nos. 1-6 in the standings of each conference will be guaranteed playoff spots. Teams Nos. 7-10 will enter the play-in tournament.