What is a tremolo bar?

A whammy bar (also called a tremolo bar) is a device attached to electric guitars that bends the strings. Classic guitarists like Jimi Hendrix and Eddie Van Halen used the whammy bar for their dramatic solos. The whammy bar creates an unique sound that can be used in rock, soul, country and more.