Who is the hoover dam dedicated to?

Like many public works, Hoover Dam is named in honor of a public official — the 31st President of the United States, Herbert Hoover. There's also a plaque next to the Visitor's Center bearing the story of 'Blackie' the four-legged mascot of Hoover Dam, whom perished February 21, 1941.