What is putting on the dog mean?

To put on dog, is to make a flashy display, to cut a swell”, and is certainly a US expression. So there's really no chance at all of an English medieval origin. It has been suggested that it developed out of the rise in popularity of ladies' lap dogs in the period after the American Civil War.