When did the united states invade the philippines in world war two?

The United States invasion of the Philippines during WW2 began on October 20, 1944, with amphibious landings at the Philippine island of Leyte on October 20, 1944. American, Mexican, Australian and Filipino soldiers fought to liberate the Philippines from Japanese control.