Where did the term caught red handed come from?

Being caught red-handed is a straightforward allusion to having blood on one's hands after the execution of a murder or a poaching session. It originated from Scotland. With usage dating back to 1432, red-hand appears in print many times in Scottish legal proceedings from the 15th century onward.