Where are bartlett pears from?

The Williams pear, also known as Bartlett, is thought to date from 1765 from the yard of an England schoolmaster named John Stair. The estate where the pears grew in the US was acquired by Enoch Bartlett. Bartlett named the pears after himself and introduced the variety into the United States.