Is electricity free?

Static electricity is free. The electricity from your home outlets is not free. It is generated to be ~120 volts and 60 hertz for U S customers. The fuel, maintenance, transmission, and equipment to generate electricity cost money and therefore there is a dollar per kilowatt hour fee for usage.