Why is a lollipop called a lollipop?

George Smith trademarked the name in 1931 and he reportedly named the treats after a popular racing horse, Lolly Pop. The name "lollipop” is now in public domain.

---

He used the idea of putting candy on a stick to make it easier to eat, and initially lollipops were a soft, rather than hard, candy. However, in America, George Smith trademarked the name in 1931 and he reportedly named the treats after a popular racing horse, Lolly Pop