Who were the first white settlers of australia?

The British colony of New South Wales was established in 1788 as a penal colony. The first settlement, at Sydney, consisted of about 850 convicts and their Marine guards and officers, led by Governor Arthur Phillip. They arrived at Botany Bay, in January, 1788.