What's the difference between a hot dog and a bratwurst?

A hot dog is made of finely ground meat (beef, pork, or chicken) with mild seasoning and is fully cooked when purchased. They tend to be thinner. Bratwursts have coarser meat (pork, beef, or veal) which is usually fresher and of higher quality and are more highly seasoned.