What is inside of a snake's body?

Snakes have a pair of ribs attached to every vertebra (except for those in the tail). Together, the ribs form a cage that protects the internal organs. The lungs, liver, stomach, and other organs are long and thin, so they can fit inside the snake's narrow body.