How long should i cook a salmon for?

it depends how you're cooking it. you can eat it raw. or bake it at 425 Fahrenheit for 12-15 minutes for a 6 ounce filet, or pan sear it over medium high heat, add oil after the pan is hot, oil should be shimmery, then cook salmon skin side up for about 4 minutes, flip, and cook for 4 more minutes