How did the moon form?

The Moon is thought to have formed about 4.51 billion years ago, not long after Earth. The most widely accepted explanation is that the Moon formed from the debris left over after a giant impact between Earth and a Mars-sized body called Theia.

---

The Moon formed by giant-impact hypothesis, sometimes called the Big Splash, or the Theia Impact suggests that the Moon formed out of the debris left over from a collision between Earth and an astronomical body the size of Mars, approximately 4.5 billion years ago.

---

The predominant theory suggests the moon formed when the earth collided with another planet around the size of mars. The debris from the impact collected in earth's gravitational field, forming the moon.