What's fifty dollars plus tax?

As sales tax is based on location, there is no general answer to "what's $50 plus tax." In the U.S., sales tax is determined by each state, counties and cities can require even more. Tax is usually based on location of sale but large items, like cars, may be taxed according to where the buyer lives.