Who invented the bacon lettuce and tomato sandwich?

The history of the Bacon Lettuce & Tomato Sandwich also known as the BLT is unclear. In the U.S. the BLT became popular after World War 2 due to the rapid expansion of supermarkets which allowed ingredients to be available year-round. In the U.S. the BLT is the second most popular sandwich.