What's the difference between a forest and the woods?

A wood is an area covered in trees, larger than a grove or a copse. A forest is also an area covered in trees, but it is larger than a wood.

---

A forest, according to Webster's New World Dictionary, is "a thick growth of trees and underbrush covering an extensive tract of land."